Delete a message

Delete messages you no longer need or want to see in your Inbox or mail folders.

  • In the message list, when you point to or select a message, the Delete icon icon appears. To delete the message, press Delete icon.

Delete message command in the message list

  • If a message is open in its own window, click Message > Delete.

Delete command on the ribbon

When a message is deleted in Outlook 2013, it’s moved to the Deleted Items folder.

If you want to bypass the Deleted Items folder and permanently delete a message, press Shift+Delete or Shift+Delete icon. You won’t have an opportunity to change your mind later and recover the message.

Wait! I changed my mind

If the message you want to keep is still in the Deleted Items folder, drag the message from the Deleted Items folder to another folder. When the Deleted Items folder is emptied for POP3 (Post Office Protocol 3 (POP3): A common Internet protocol that is used to retrieve email messages from an Internet email server.), IMAP (IMAP (Internet Message Access Protocol): Unlike Internet email protocols such as POP3, IMAP creates folders on a server to store/organize messages for retrieval by other computers. You can read message headers only and select which messages to download.), and Outlook.com or other Exchange ActiveSync accounts, the message is permanently gone.

There’s an exception for some Microsoft Exchange Server accounts. If enabled, you can retrieve deleted messages for a limited time period. The time period is set by your Exchange admin.

 
 
Maikakapit sa:
Office 365 Enterprise, Office 365 Midsize Business, Office 365 Small Business, Outlook 2013