Share documents by using a mobile device

You can use your mobile phone or tablet, including Windows Phone, iPhone and Android mobile devices, to share a document or folder in a library with people outside your organization. You do this either by inviting people to join your site or by sharing a guest link.

 Note    When you share a document or folder by using a mobile device, you might need to switch from mobile view to PC View to use the steps explained in this article.

In this article


Share a document with people you invite to your site

To use this procedure, you might need to tap Switch to PC View on the Settings Settings button menu.

  1. In the document library, next to the document or folder that you want to share, tap More (…), and then tap Share.
  2. In the Share 'Document' dialog box, in the Enter names or email addresses box, type the e-mail address for each person you want to invite to your site to view the document or folder.

 Note    If you previously sent a document to this person, or if they are already a member of your site, you can begin typing their name in this box and then select it from the list of available choices when it appears.

  1. Tap either Can edit or Can view depending on whether you want to enable the person to make changes to the document or simply view it.
  2. Select the Require sign-in check box.
  3. To send an e-mail invitation and type a message for the recipients, tap Show Options, and then tap Send an email invitation.
  4. You can optionally type a message for the recipient in the Include a personal message with this invitation (Optional) box.

Top of Page Top of Page

Share a document by sending a guest link

To use this procedure, you might need to tap Switch to PC View on the Settings Settings button menu.

  1. In the document library, next to the document or folder that you want to share, tap More (…), and then tap Share.
  2. In the Share 'Document' dialog box, in the Enter names or email addresses box, type the e-mail address for each person you want to invite to your site to view the document or folder.

 Note    If you previously sent a document to this person, or if they are already a member of your site, you can begin typing their name in this box and then select it from the list of available choices when it appears.

  1. Tap either Can edit or Can view depending on whether you want to enable the person to make changes to the document or simply view it.
  2. Clear the Require sign-in check box.
  3. You can optionally type a message for the recipient in the Include a personal message with this invitation (Optional) box.

 Note    If you previously shared a document using this procedure, Open to anyone with a guest link appears in the Share 'Document' dialog box. You can use this link to share the document with others.

Top of Page Top of Page

Overview of sharing documents with a mobile device

Sharing documents and folders is useful for collaborating with external vendors, customers or other partners. For example, you might share documents located in your OneDrive for Business or in team site libraries. External sharing must be enabled by your administrator before you can share a document or folder with people outside your organization. You can share a document or folder in one of two ways:

  • By inviting a user to your site    When you share a document or folder by inviting someone to your site, you can specify whether to let them view or edit the document you shared. The user will be able to log in to your site to view or edit the document by using any e-mail address associated with a Microsoft account.
  • By sharing a guest link    When you share a document or folder by sending a guest link, the person receives an obfuscated link (people cannot use it to view or navigate to other content on your site). The recipient can click the guest link and access the document without needing to sign in. When you send a guest link, the recipient can, in turn, forward that link to someone else. If the anonymous links feature is turned off globally, any shared links will stop working. If the feature is later reactivated, these links will resume working. It is also possible to disable individual links that have been shared if you want to revoke access to a specific document.

Security   Once a guest link has been created and shared, the recipient could share the link with others, who would also be able to use the link to access the content. You should avoid this method of sharing for sensitive or confidential content.

Regardless of which sharing method you use, you can optionally send an email to inform people that you’ve shared a file with them.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Maikakapit sa:
Office 365 Enterprise, Office 365 Enterprise admin, Office 365 Midsize Business, Office 365 Midsize Business admin, Office 365 Small Business, Office 365 Small Business admin, SharePoint Online Enterprise (E1), SharePoint Online Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online Small Business