Turn off track changes

When you’re done tracking changes, turn change tracking off—but that doesn’t remove all the marked changes that are already in your document. It’s a two-step process: Turn off Track Changes, and then accept or reject the changes. After those two steps, you have a clean document that’s ready for the world.

You turn Track Changes off the same way you turn it on:

Click Review > Track Changes.

Track changes on the Word ribbon

Now it’s time to clean up any markup left in your document.

Remove tracked changes

The only way to remove tracked changes in a document is to accept or reject them.

 Important    Tracked changes appear when a document opens. Choosing No Markup in the Display for Review box helps you see what the final document will look like—but it only hides tracked changes temporarily. The changes are not deleted, and they’ll show up again the next time anyone opens the document. To delete the tracked changes permanently, accept or reject them.

Click Review > Next > Accept or Reject.

The Accept, Reject, and Next buttons

Word accepts the change or removes it and then moves to the next change. To accept all the changes at the same time, click the arrow by Accept and click Accept All Changes.

To remove comments from your document, delete them. Click the comment and then click Review > Delete Comment.

Delete comment button on the ribbon

Or click Review, click the arrow by Delete Comment, and click Delete All Comments in Document.

Delete All Comments in Document command on the Delete Comments menu

 Tip    Before you share the final version of your document, it’s a good idea to run Document Inspector. This tool checks for tracked changes and comments, hidden text, personal names in properties, and other information you might not want to share widely. To run Document Inspector, click File > Info > Check for Issues > Inspect Document.

 
 
Applies to:
Word 2013