Delete a library

When you delete a library, you also delete documents, information about the documents (sometimes known as metadata), and version history. You also delete the settings and any specific permission levels that are associated with the library.



Overview

Deleting an unused library can save server space and avoid confusion. Before deleting a library, you should make sure that no one is currently using the library and that no one is going to need the documents.

You should also ensure that you understand your organization's process and policies for deleting libraries. To delete a library, you must have permission to manage lists and libraries. In some cases, organizations may restrict permission to delete libraries.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a library

  1. If the library is not already open, click its name on the Quick Launch.

If the name of your library does not appear, click View All Site Content, and then click the name of your library.

On the Settings menu Settings menu, click the settings for the type of library that you are opening.

For example, in a document library, click Document Library Settings.

  1. Under Permissions and Management, click the option to delete your type of library. For example, in a document library, click Delete this document library.
  2. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK if you are sure that you want to delete the library.

 Tip   Depending on how your site is set up, you may be able to recover a library that you accidentally deleted by using the Recycle Bin. Find links to more information about using the Recycle Bin in the See Also section.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint Server 2007, Windows SharePoint Services 3.0