About mapping UML models to a development process

Microsoft Office Visio supports the creation of UML models (model: An abstraction of a modeled system that specifies the modeled system from a certain viewpoint and at a certain level of abstraction.) without recommending any particular development process. However, to show the UML diagrams in a meaningful context, the following graphic organizes the UML diagram types listed below into models that roughly correspond to phases a development process might follow: use case model phase, domain model phase, design model phase, and implementation model phase.

The phases appear to be consecutive, but the most effective development processes are iterative, with each phase occurring a number of times.

Modeling a system can be broken down into four phases: use case model, domain model, design model, and implemenation model

ShowUse case model phase

Use cases are narrative descriptions of processes that you create early in a development cycle. They describe the interactions between external actors and your system, and help you understand the system requirements and the terminology used in the domain area. During the use case phase, you create use case diagrams.

ShowDomain model phase

Like the use case model phase, the domain model phase is focused on building an understanding of the domain for which you're developing a system. This is an analysis phase in which you're still thinking about objects and relationships in the real world rather than about programming concepts.

During the domain model phase, you create conceptual static structure diagrams, package diagrams, and sequence diagrams.

ShowDesign model phase

ShowImplementation model phase

The implementation model phase focuses on the physical and component structure of the development environment. During the implementation phase, you create component diagrams and deployment diagrams.

Applies to:
Visio 2003