Delete a notebook from OneDrive

When you no longer need a shared notebook on OneDrive, there’s an important decision you need to make. Do you want to delete the notebook for good? Or do you want to keep the notebook, but not have it on OneDrive anymore?

 Tip    If you just want to stop sharing a notebook with other people, you can do that without deleting the whole notebook on OneDrive. You can stop sharing it with everyone, or you can change who can view or edit it if you only want to stop sharing with a few people.

Delete a notebook from OneDrive

If you don’t want your notebook to appear on OneDrive, and you don’t want to save any of your notes, you can delete your notebook.

 Caution    Deleting your notebook is permanent. Make sure you really want to delete it and that you’ve copied any information you’d like to keep.

  1. Open OneDrive and find the notebook in your list of documents.
  2. Place the pointer over the tile and check the box that appears.
  3. Click Manage > Delete.
  4. Return to OneNote and click the name of the notebook you just deleted from OneDrive.
  5. Right-click the notebook, and click Close This Notebook.

You can close a notebook if you don't need to use it anymore.

 Important    Closing the deleted notebook in your list of notebooks is important or else OneNote will try to sync with a notebook that no longer exists and you’ll get a syncing error.

Move a notebook to your computer

If you want to keep the content from your notebook, but don’t want it to appear on OneDrive anymore, you can move it to your computer. First, you need to create a new notebook on your computer. Then you can move the content to the new notebook and delete the notebook from OneDrive.

  1. In OneNote, click File > New > Computer.
  2. Give your new notebook a name, and click Create Notebook.
  3. Click the arrow next to the name of the notebook so you can see all of your notebooks.

Switch notebooks using the menu on the left.

  1. Click the pushpin icon to pin the Notebook pane.
  2. Now that all your notebooks are visible, drag each section from the notebook you want to delete to the notebook you just created.

Drag sections from one notebook to another

  1. Open OneDrive and find the notebook in your list of documents.
  2. Place the pointer over the tile and check the box that appears.
  3. Click Manage > Delete.
  4. Return to OneNote and click the name of the notebook you just deleted from OneDrive.
  5. Right-click the notebook, and click Close This Notebook.
 
 
Applies to:
OneNote 2013