Corporate News App

Corporate News App

Average Rating3.5 out of 5 stars(24)

Customer Reviews

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

ALL REVIEWS

4 out of 5 stars

1.6.2.0 is functional in on-premise SharePoint Foundations

May 29, 2014 by JAG

I had no luck with the previous version, the loading image would just spin. 
Very happy to see it now loading fine, looking forwarding to using this professional-looking app.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Something to be aware of

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
October 26, 2012 by Jason Prell
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

This is a great app, but something to be aware of: the client app parts are not working correctly on the host site when using IE 10 in Windows 8. You will get an error that the content cannot be displayed in a frame. This will happen in whatever rendering mode you use and will still happen even after adding the app specific domain name to Trusted Sites. The client app parts work fine from Chrome, Firefox, and even IE 8. I'm sure it is more specific to a compatibility issue with IE 10 and probably affects most if not all client app parts, so don't judge this particular app on that issue.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Works great internally

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2013 by Bill
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

This app looked promising when first installed, but like many others it is limited only to authenticated users which is unfortunate. It looks so promising for the ability to scroll company "news" via the public facing website where in my opinion this type of information would be more desirable. It was also very easily customizable to be used to scroll through products or services as well, but again doesn't work on the public facing website.
For authenticated users, however, it works well and is easily installed and configured. I hadn't got into all the details to notice any severe limitations (minus what was described above). If it were enhanced to allow anonymous access or a sibling version was created that did so, I would be inclined to give a higher rating.

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Set up SharePoint to communicate quickly

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
October 9, 2012 by Jonathan Barbosa
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Good job !

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Great App, does exactly what it says.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2013 by Ben R.
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Perfect freeware app. Does exactly as it says. Simple layout and easy to use. 
Certainly there are one or two additional features I'd like to see but this app covers the needs I have. 
As far as the extra, would be nice in the carousel piece to easily change the colors of the tabs, have a field to set the timing on the image progression and possibly have arrows to progress the carousel versus clicking on the numbers. 
Again that said the tool saved me a ton of time and almost feels like a forgotten piece of the puzzle from Microsoft. Kudos Olivier!

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

how to publish news to guest?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
March 20, 2013 by Fan Su
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

if the user is not logon, it will not display the news.
how to set options to publish the new for guest?

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Looks promising but throws error on Windows 8 with IE 10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
November 21, 2012 by Sushant
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Looks promising but gives the error as this content cannot be displayed in this frame on Windows 8 with IE 10. Works fine on other browsers. But would be really appreciated if it can work with IE 10 on Windows 8

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Does not work

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
February 18, 2013 by Joe
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

We just get a spinning circle. No content ever loads. Put in a ticket with the developer and have gotten no response. It's been a couple of months now. If it works for you, great. You're lucky. If not, you're on your own.

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent App

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
January 25, 2013 by Chris A
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

With an easy to use back end

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Nicely done

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
January 22, 2013 by aackose
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

The app will well structured with a good detail of help and documentation.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Great, Unfortunately no Russia version

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
April 21, 2014 by Olga
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

I really like this app. It is easy to work with and it looks fantastically, very up-to-date. But unfortunately it does not work in Russian websites. Is it possible ti create it in Russian?
Thanks

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Great look and concept but doesn't work wtih anonymous access...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
May 4, 2013 by Ben
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Works well when configured and used by authenticated users, but doesn't work at all when used on Office 365 Internet Facing Site or SharePoint 2013 on-prem with Anonymous access on (internet facing).
Doesn't allow theme and color customization as well...
Too bad, it would have made this one a must-have app to make SP sites look nice and modern...

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work with IE10 on Windows 8

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
May 5, 2013 by Matthias
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Since this App only shows a security error when the Client uses IE10 on Windows 8, it's completely useless to me.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

It doesn't work when anonymous is enabled

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
October 29, 2013 by Cameron
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

It doesn't work when anonymous is enabled (sharepoint online - public website)

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to set up, works well for me

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
July 12, 2013 by Susanne Wrage
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

I am only using the app for an Intranet, and on IE 9, it works flawlessly. Easy to set up and configure, AND very well documented. Great enhancement for my site.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Well done !

October 24, 2012 by Guillaume Meyer
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

Well done !

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Thank you!

October 26, 2013 by SMonczka
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

This web part adds a dose of well needed professionalism to my site. Thank you. Very, very easy to configure. And you can configure just about EVERYTHING! I say just about because... I seem to be unable to center the web par in the zone or make the web part larger without ending up with scroll bars. Is there a way to do that?

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Great app - minior issues in IE 10

December 21, 2012 by Omar Tariq
This review is for a previous version: 1.0.0.0

This app works like a charm and news items are very simple to update/maintain.
I did notice some interference with SharePoint 2013 drop down menus. When using drop down menus the drop-down hides behind news rotators. (environment: Windows 8 | IE 10)

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Wish that this application works on anonymous O365 site

May 19, 2014 by Norboo
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

Hi Olivier,
First of all congratulation you have developed a great application. It's quite recommendable. You had a great idea..
A sincere and wise that if you can find any alternate solution to let it work on anonymous 0365 public site. 
Great!!!

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Dosen't work

March 5, 2014 by Raj
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

This app is not working for me and my site is not enabled to access anonymous user.
All I can see is spinning bar

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Lack of support

March 26, 2014 by Jeremiah
This review is for a previous version: 1.5.0.0

This app is great and adds nice elements to a site...if it worked. I'm not going into the list of bugs I've seen because they've been highlighted well by others before me. My biggest reason for 1 Star is lack of perceived activity from the developer which is too bad for this is a nice app. Hopefully this will change in the near future.

Did you find this helpful?