Remove users and groups from site access

To properly manage access to the resources on your site, it is important for site administrators to promptly cancel the access of users who are no longer with the organization or whose role has changed such that their permission level needs to be adjusted.

When users are removed from a site's permission groups, they can no longer browse to the site (assuming they do not have individual rights to the site). They also no longer receive alerts on anything from the site. However, they still exist in the UserData table, and their alerts are still present. A site administrator can still see their alerts on the User Alerts page.

This makes it easier to move users between groups without losing the alerts they had created. Thus, users who are moved from the Visitors group to the Members group will not have to re-create their alerts just because they change their permission level.

To permanently delete a user from the UserData table and permanently delete all of the user's alerts, you need to delete the user from the site collection.

What do you want to do?


Remove users from a group

  1. On the home page, click the Site Actions menu, point to Site Settings, and then click People and Groups.
  2. On the People and Groups page, on the Quick Launch, click Groups.
  3. On the People and Groups: All Groups page, click the name of the group from which you want to remove users.
  4. Select the check boxes for the users who you want to remove.
  5. On the Actions menu, click Remove Users from Group, and then click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a group

  1. On the home page, click the Site Actions menu, point to Site Settings, and then click People and Groups.
  2. On the People and Groups page, in the Quick Launch, click Groups.
  3. On the People and Groups: All Groups page, in the Edit column, click the Edit button next to the group that you want to delete.
  4. On the Change Group Settings page, scroll to the bottom of the page, click Delete, and then click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a user from a site collection

To permanently delete a user from UserData table and permanently delete all of the user's alerts, do the following:

  1. On the site collection home page, click the Site Actions menu, point to Site Settings, and then click People and Groups.
  2. On the People and Groups page, in the Quick Launch, click All People.
  3. On the People and Groups: All People page, select the check box next to the user who you want to delete.
  4. On the Actions menu, click Delete Users from Site Collection, and then click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

View the user alerts

  1. On the portal site home page, click Site Actions, point to Site Settings, and then click Modify All Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, in the Site Administration section, click User Alerts.
  3. On the Display alerts for menu, select the name of the user whose alerts you want to view, and then click Update.

To delete an alert, select the check box next to the alert, and then click Delete Selected Alerts.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint Server 2007