Manage alerts

Alerts are notifications of changes to content on a site that you receive as e-mail messages or text messages to your mobile phone, depending on how your site is configured. You can use either the User Information page or the Manage Alerts on this Site page to view and cancel your alerts (alert: A feature that notifies a user by e-mail when there is a change to an item, document, list, or document library on the Web site.) and change the settings for your alerts. If you have permission to manage a site, you can also view and cancel alerts for other people by using the User Alerts page.

This article focuses on how to manage alerts for yourself and for other people if you are a site administrator.    

What do you want to do?


View my alerts on a site

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.

Top of Page Top of Page

Change my alert settings

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.
  3. Click the name of the alert that you want to change.
  4. On the Edit Alert page, change the settings that you want to change.
  5. Click OK.

 Tip   When you receive an e-mail alert, you can click a link to see alert information on the site.

Top of Page Top of Page

Cancel an alert for myself

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.
  3. Select the check box next to the alert that you want to cancel.
  4. Click Delete Selected Alerts.
  5. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

View alerts for other people on a site

To view alerts for other people, you must have permission to manage site settings.

  1. Click Site Actions Site Actions Menu and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Site Administration, click User alerts.
  3. In the list next to Display alerts for, select the person whose alerts you want to view.
  4. Click the Update button.

Top of Page Top of Page

Cancel an alert for another person

To view and cancel alerts for other people, you must have permission to manage site settings.

  1. Click Site Actions Site Actions Menu and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Site Administration, click User alerts.
  3. In the list next to Display alerts for, select the person whose alerts you want to view.
  4. Click the Update button.
  5. Select the check box next to the alert that you want to cancel.
  6. Click Delete Selected Alerts.
  7. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK.

     Tip   If you want to view your subscriptions to RSS Feeds, which are another way to stay updated on changes, follow the instructions in your RSS reader, browser, or e-mail program. For example, some browsers manage RSS Feeds as part of their Favorite links. For more information, see Help in your program.

    Top of Page Top of Page

     
     
    Applies to:
    SharePoint Foundation 2010 , SharePoint Online for enterprises, SharePoint Online for professionals and small businesses , SharePoint Server 2010