Delete a list

When you delete a list, you also delete list items, attachments, information about the items (sometimes known as metadata), and version history. You also delete the settings and any specific permission levels that are associated with the list.



Overview

Deleting an unused list can save server space and avoid confusion. Before deleting a list, you should make sure that no one is currently using the list and that no one is going to need the information.

You should also ensure that you understand your organization's process and policies for deleting content. To delete a list, you must have permission to manage lists. In some cases, organizations may restrict permission to delete lists.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a list

  1. If the list is not already open, click its name on the Quick Launch.

If the name of your list does not appear, click View All Site Content, and then click the name of your list.

  1. On the Settings menu Settings menu, click List Settings.

 Note   For surveys, on the Settings menu, click Survey Settings. For discussion boards, on the Settings menu, click Discussion Board Settings.

  1. Under Permissions and Management, click Delete this list.

 Note   For surveys, click Delete this survey instead. For discussion boards, click Delete this discussion board instead.

  1. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK if you are sure that you want to delete the list.

 Tip   Depending on how your site is set up, you may be able to recover a list that you accidentally deleted by using the Recycle Bin. Find links to more information about using the Recycle Bin in the See Also section.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint Server 2007, Windows SharePoint Services 3.0