Save and publish pages on your website

When you finish customizing a web page on your website, you can save the page as a draft and continue working on it later, or you can publish the page for everyone to see. When you make your website public, or put it online, for the first time, you may be prompted that some pages haven’t been published yet, and this may leave you wondering what saving and publishing is all about. This article describes how publishing works on your website and how you can use it to manage the content you want people to see.

In this article


About publishing pages

The web pages on the Public Website can exist in different states – Draft or Published – both of which help you manage content on your site. When a web page is in a draft state, only you and other authenticated authors can see the version of the page you’re working on. As soon as you publish that page, everyone can see that version, including the general public if the website is online for public viewing.

The default pages on the Public Website (like Home, About Us, and Directions) are already published when you first open your site. When you create new pages on your site, they are created as drafts. When you edit the page, you can save it as a draft or save and publish the page. It’s common to make several changes to a page, saving each time as a draft, before publishing it for everyone to see, similar to the way you would edit a document. Each time you save a draft or publish, you create a new version of that page.

You can also unpublish the latest version of a page or go back to a specific version if you like. This can be useful in certain circumstances when you discover an error or incorrect information on one of your pages that needs to come off immediately. Rather than taking the site down, you can unpublish the latest version and restore the previous version until you resolve the matter. When you’re ready to make it viewable again, just republish the page.

Top of Page Top of Page

Saving and publishing pages

Watch the video below (at 3:55 in the video) for a quick demo of saving and publishing pages on your website.

Save and publish pages

   

You can save and publish pages at any time while working in the website editor.

  1. While editing the page, if you want to simply save the page but continue editing, click Edit and choose Save and Keep Editing.
  2. When finished editing, if you want to save the page as a draft so that only authors like you can see it but not the public and visitors to the website, simply click Save. (Clicking the Save button and then choosing Save in the menu does the same thing.)
  3. Or, if you’re done editing and you’re ready to publish the page so that everyone, including site visitors and the public, can see it, click Save and Publish.

You can also publish pages from the pages library, where you can see which pages are published.

  1. From the Page tab, choose View All Pages. (This is the same location you’re taken to when you make the website online and are prompted to publish pages.)
  2. Locate the page that contains the Draft approval status and select it by placing a checkmark beside the item.
  3. Click the Files tab and choose Publish.
  4. Add comments if you like and then click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Unpublish the latest version of the page

   

You can unpublish the current version of the page at any time. This is useful in the event you find a mistake or liability with the current web page and want to remove that version without having to delete anything on the site.

To unpublish the latest version from the web page

  1. Browse to the page you want to unpublish.
  2. From the Page tab, choose Page History.
  3. At the top of the page, choose Version History.
  4. Place your mouse over the date of the latest version and when the drop-down appears, choose Unpublish this version.
    Unpublish this version of web page
  5. Click OK to confirm the unpublish action.
    When you browse back to the page on the site, you will see the latest version no longer appears there. To re-publish the page, follow the steps at the beginning of this article.

To unpublish the latest version from the Pages library

  1. From the Page tab, choose View All Pages. (This is the same location you’re taken to when you make the website online and are prompted to publish pages.)
  2. Locate the page that contains the Approved approval status and select it by placing a checkmark beside the item.
  3. Click the Files tab and choose Unpublish.
  4. Click OK to confirm the unpublish action.

Top of Page Top of Page

Restore a previous version of the page

   

You can restore a previous version of the page too. This is useful when you want to go back a few versions and nominate the one you want to appear on the website. Watch the video below (at 3:38) for a quick demo of restoring previous versions of a web page.

To restore a previous version from the web page

  1. Browse to the page you want to unpublish.
  2. From the Page tab, choose Page History.
  3. At the top of the page, choose Version History.
  4. Place your mouse over the date of the page version you want to restore and choose Restore.
    Restore previous version of web page
  5. Click OK to confirm the restore action.

To restore a previous version from the Pages library

  1. From the Page tab, choose View All Pages.
  2. Locate the page that contains the Approved approval status and select it by placing a checkmark beside the item.
  3. Click the Files tab and choose Version History.
  4. Place your mouse over the date of the page version you want to restore and choose Restore.
    Restore previous version of web page
  5. Click OK to confirm the restore action.

When you browse back to the website, you’ll see the version of the page you specified instead of the latest published version. To re-publish the former page, follow the steps at the beginning of this article.

Top of Page Top of Page

Learn more

When you’ve published all the pages on your site, the next step is to make your website publicly available. See Make your public website online or offline. Learn more in Public Website help for Office 365.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
Office 365 Enterprise admin, Office 365 Midsize Business admin, Office 365 operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise admin, Office 365 operated by 21Vianet - Midsize Business admin, Office 365 operated by 21Vianet - Small Business admin, Office 365 Small Business admin, SharePoint admin center, SharePoint Online Enterprise (E1), SharePoint Online Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online Midsized Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise (E1 & E2), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Midsized Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Small Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Website, SharePoint Online Small Business, SharePoint Online Website, SharePoint operated by 21Vianet - admin center