Manage the Recycle Bin of a SharePoint site collection

The Recycle Bin gives a site collection administrator greater control when users delete files, versions of files, list items, libraries, lists, and folders from a SharePoint site by providing a second stage safety net before an item is permanently deleted from a site. When a user deletes an item from the Recycle Bin, the item is sent to a second stage Recycle Bin (also known as the Site Collection Recycle Bin) that the site collection administrator manages. This article focuses on how a site collection administrator can manage the Recycle Bin for a site collection.

 Important   The Recycle Bin on a SharePoint site collection is different from the Recycle Bin in Windows. For information about the Recycle Bin in Windows, see The desktop (overview).

In this article


Overview

As a site collection administrator, you can view and manage deleted items across a site collection from the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page. From this page, you can view items that are currently in a user's Recycle Bin and items that the user has deleted from the Recycle Bin. When items are deleted from the user’s Recycle Bin, they are sent to the second stage Recycle Bin, also known as the Site Collection Recycle Bin.

 Note    Deleted sites are automatically sent to the second stage Recycle Bin and can be restored only by a Site Collection Administrator.

A user who deletes an item in the Recycle Bin can contact you to restore the item to its original location, as long as the item hasn't exceeded the original deleted date that the service administrator set. The period of time after which items are deleted depends on the version of SharePoint you are using:

  • For Office 365 customers using SharePoint Online, items in the Recycle Bin are deleted automatically after 90 days by default. Regardless of whether an item is sent to the user’s Recycle Bin or to the Site Collection Recycle Bin, items are deleted automatically after 90 days.
  • For on-premises SharePoint deployments, items are deleted after the number of days that the service administrator specified in Central Administration.
  •  Note   If you are using an on-premises version of SharePoint, and you do not see the Recycle Bin on your site, the Recycle Bin might have been disabled by the service administrator.

    Callout 3 

Top of Page Top of Page

View items from the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page

As a site collection administrator, you can use the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin to view, delete, and restore items deleted by other users. If you do not see the Recycle Bin on your site, it might have been disabled by the service administrator.

Recycle Bin

To display the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin:

  1. In the Quick Launch pane, click Site Contents.
  2. On the Site Contents page, do either of the following:
  • To view your own items in the Recycle Bin, click Recycle Bin.
  • To view all items from the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page, click Settings SharePoint Online Public Website Settings button, and then, under Site Collection Administration, click Recycle Bin.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete an item by using the Site Collection Recycle Bin page

By default, items that users delete are sent to the Recycle Bin. As a site collection administrator, you can view those items in the End user Recycle Bin items view on the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page. When a user deletes items from the Recycle Bin, they are sent to the Site Collection Recycle Bin. As a site collection administrator, you can view the items in the Deleted from end user Recycle Bin view.

When you delete an item from the Site Collection Recycle Bin, it is permanently deleted from the site.

  1. In the Quick Launch pane, click Site Contents.
  2. To view your own deleted items in the Recycle Bin, click Recycle Bin.
  3. Select the check box next to the item you want to delete, and then click Delete Selection.
  4. To view all deleted items from the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page, click Settings SharePoint Online Public Website Settings button, and then click Site Settings.
  5. Under Site Collection Administration, click Recycle Bin, and then do one of the following:
  • To view items in the end user Recycle Bin, click End user Recycle Bin items.
  • To view items in the Site Collection Recycle Bin, click Deleted from end user Recycle Bin.
  1. Select the check box next to the item you want to delete, and then click Delete Selection.

Top of Page Top of Page

Restore an item by using the Site Collection Recycle Bin page

As a site collection administrator, you can restore a user’s deleted item to its original location, as long as the item hasn't exceeded the original deleted date that the service administrator set. For SharePoint Online, items in the Recycle Bin are deleted automatically after 90 days.

  1. In the Quick Launch pane, click Site Contents.
  2. To view your own items in the Recycle Bin, click Recycle Bin.
  3. To view all deleted items from the Site Collection Administration Recycle Bin page, click Settings SharePoint Online Public Website Settings button, and then click Site Settings link
  4. Under Site Collection Administration, click Recycle Bin, and then do one of the following:
  • To restore items in the end user Recycle Bin, click End user Recycle Bin items.
  • To restore items in the Site Collection Recycle Bin, click Deleted from end user Recycle Bin.
  1. Select the check box next to the item you want to restore, and then click Restore Selection.

If you restore an item that was originally located in a deleted folder, the folder is recreated in its original location and the item is restored in that folder.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint Foundation 2013, SharePoint Online Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Small Business, SharePoint Online Small Business, SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise, SharePoint Server 2013 Standard