Save a project

You can save your project in several different file formats (file format: The particular way in which information is stored in a file. Different programs use different file formats and file name extensions to indicate the format.), including the formats used by previous versions of Microsoft Office Project, and the format used by Microsoft Office Excel. If your project plan (plan: A schedule of task start and finish dates and resource and cost data. A baseline plan is the original plan that you save and use to monitor progress. An interim plan is a set of dates you save during the project to compare to other interim plans.) may meet the needs of other projects in your organization, you can save it as a template (template: A Project file format [*.mpt] that lets you reuse existing schedules as the starting point for creating new schedules. Task and resource information, formatting, macros, and project-specific settings can all become part of a template.).

If your project is saved to Microsoft Office Project Server and you would like to get additional input from others on your project's data, you can save it for sharing with others. This enables you to provide the project plan to others before it is ready to be published.

 Note   You cannot save files using the trial version of Project 2007.

What do you want to do?


Save my project

Saving a project is not the same as checking in a project or publishing a project. When you save your project to Project Server, it is marked as being checked out to you and it is only available to you. Close the project to check it in to Project Server. To make the project available to your team members, publish the project.

  1. Click Save Button image.
  2. If this is the first time you that are saving the project, in the Save to the Project Server dialog box, type a name for the project in the Name box.

If you are just saving changes to an existing project, then you are finished with this procedure .

  1. To set any enterprise custom fields in the project, click the Value field for a custom field, and then select the value. You must enter data for custom fields that are required, indicated by an asterisk (*) after the field name.
  2. Click Save.
  3. To check the project in to Project Server, click Close on the File menu or close the project window.

If you close the project window or exit Project without saving your last change, the Close dialog box is displayed. In the Save Changes section, click Save to save the changes that you have made to the project, or click Discard Changes to close the project without saving your changes. In the Check in section, click Check in to check the project back in to Project Server, or click Keep project checked out to leave the project checked out to you, which prevents others from making changes.

 Tip   You can also save a project to the Portable Document Format (PDF) file format . Learn how to save a file to PDF.

 Notes 

Top of Page Top of Page

Save my project for sharing with others

If someone else has valuable input regarding your project's data, it may be easier to send the project to that person and have him or her make changes directly in the project plan, especially if the person does not have access to your Project Server.

 Important   The person with whom you are sharing the project must have Microsoft Office Project Professional 2007 or Microsoft Office Project Standard 2007 installed.

  1. On the File menu, click Save For Sharing.
  2. In the Save in box, select the drive and folder where you want to save the project.
  3. In the File name box, type a name for the shared project.

 Tip   It is a good idea to name the project using some indication that it is a shared project. For example, for a project called "Organize customer conference," you might name the shared version "Organize customer conference - Shared."

After you save a file for sharing, you can send the saved file to someone else to make changes directly in the project plan. While the project is being shared, you cannot open the file for editing from Project Server. Only the shared file can be modified.

When all changes have been made to the shared file, the next step is to save the changes back to Project Server.

To save the changes in the shared file back to the file on Project Server, open the shared file on the computer where you initially saved the file for sharing, and connect to Project Server. On the File menu, click Save As, and then click Save. The version of the file saved on the server is updated, and the project is no longer only available in read-only format.

 Notes 

  • The shared file can only be saved back to Project Server from the computer where you initially saved it for sharing.
  • If there are pending operations for the project, such as task updates from team members, you must wait for those pending operations to finish processing before you can successfully save the project for sharing.
  • To make further changes to a shared project after it has been saved back to Project Server, you must save the project for sharing again. The shared file can only be saved back to Project Server one time.
  • If the shared file is lost, or becomes unavailable for any reason, the server administrator can force a check-in of the project on Project Server.

Top of Page Top of Page

Save my project as a template

To reuse an existing project as the basis for a new project, you can save it as a template. When saving a project as a template, you are given the option to remove baseline data, actuals (actual: Information that shows what has actually occurred. For example, the actual start date for a task is the day that the task actually started.), resource pay rates (pay rate: Resource cost per hour. Project includes two types of pay rates: standard rates and overtime rates.), fixed cost (fixed cost: A set cost for a task that remains constant regardless of the task duration or the work performed by a resource.) information, and task publishing status.

  1. On the File menu, click Save as.
  2. If the project you want to save as a template is saved in Project Server, click Save as File on the Save to Project Server dialog box.
  3. On the Save As File dialog box, click Currently loaded global items to save only those items from the enterprise global template that are used in this project.
  4. In the Save in box, select the drive and folder where you want to save the template.
  5. In the File name box, type a name for the template.
  6. In the Save as type box, click Template (*.mpt).
  7. Click Save.
  8. Select the check boxes for data that you want to remove from your project file.
  9. Click Save.

 Note   Project includes several predefined project templates that you can use or customize for your own projects.

Top of Page Top of Page

Save a local project file to Project Server

If you have a project saved locally, you can save that project to Project Server to make it accessible to others in your organization.

  1. Open Project and connect to Project Server.
  2. Open the project that you have saved locally.
  3. On the File menu, click Save As.
  4. On the Save to Project Server dialog box, type a name for the project in the Name box.
  5. To include any enterprise custom fields in the project, click the Value field for a custom field, and then set the value.
  6. Click Save.
  7. To check the project in to Project Server, click Close on the File menu, or close the project window.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
Project 2007