Publish (task field)

Data Type    Yes/No (Yes/No field: A type of field with content set to either Yes or No; also known as a Boolean field or a True/False field. For example, the Recurring field indicates whether the task is a recurring task.)

Entry Type    Entered (entered field: A field in which you may type or edit information. This is in contrast with a calculated field, in which Project calculates and enters information.)

Description    The Publish field indicates whether the current task should be published (publish assignments: If you use Project Server as your team collaboration solution, you publish assignments to notify your resources of new and changed assignments to tasks.) to Project Server with the rest of the project. By default, this field is set to Yes.

Best Uses    Add the Publish field to a task view when you want to view or change whether a task is set to be published to Project Server. This can be particularly useful if you are still developing the details of new or changed tasks, and are not ready to publish them for the rest of the team and other stakeholders to see.

Example    You and your team are busy working on an existing enterprise project (enterprise project: A project that is stored in Project Server to ensure information integrity. To make changes to an enterprise project, users with access permissions are required to check it in and out from Project Server.). You have just updated progress for current tasks. In addition, you have recently learned of increased scope changes to a work phase coming up in two months. You have added new tasks and changed resource assignments in the project plan to respond to these changes. However, you're still researching certain task durations. You want to publish the updates you've made for current tasks, but you do not want to publish information about the upcoming work phase until the changes are complete. You insert the Publish column into the Task Sheet and change the setting for the tasks in the upcoming work phase to No. A few days later, you finish the changes. You set the Publish field for these tasks to Yes, and then publish the project plan to Project Server.

Remarks    Although the Publish field is available for local projects, it is only useful when working with an enterprise project through Project Server.

If you have already published a task and then later set the Publish field to No, when you publish the project again, the task will be removed from any assigned resources.

 
 
Applies to:
Project Professional 2013, Project Standard 2013, Project 2010, Project 2007