Inactivate a task

When you inactivate a task, it stays in the project plan, but does not affect resource (resources: The people, equipment, and material that are used to complete tasks in a project.) availability, the project schedule (schedule: The timing and sequence of tasks within a project. A schedule consists mainly of tasks, task dependencies, durations, constraints, and time-oriented project information.), or how other tasks are scheduled.

This feature is only available in Project Professional.

  1. Click View, and then in the Task Views group, click Gantt Chart.

Task Views group on the View tab.

  1. In the table, select the number of the task you want to inactivate.
  2. Click Task, and then in the Schedule group, click Inactivate.

Inactivate button in the Schedule group of the Task tab.

The inactive task stays in the task list, but the text is grayed out and has a line through it.

To reactivate a task, select the inactive task and then click Inactivate.

Inactivated vs. completed tasks

Inactivation is not a good way to archive completed tasks, because it could have unexpected effects on the remaining schedule.

Instead, mark the tasks as completed. Select the task and click Task. In the Schedule group, click 100%.

The Schedule group on the Task tab.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
Project Professional 2013, Project Standard 2013