Adjust the local cache for your projects

Microsoft Office Project Professional 2007 uses a local cache to let you work with projects as if they were stored locally, making the Save and Open operations much faster than in previous versions. You can adjust the cache size and location, and select specific projects to remove from the cache.

What do you want to do?


Learn more about the local cache

The local cache helps you work more efficiently by synchronizing a local version of your project with the version stored on Project Server.

When you check out a project, the local version is updated with changes made to the server version. As you make changes to the checked-out project, those changes are saved to the local version of the project.

When you check the project back in to Project Server, only those changes that were made while the project was checked out are synchronized to the server version of the project.

While working on a checked-out project, you may want to occasionally save the project to Project Server without checking it back in. When you save the project, it synchronizes the changes, similar to the check-in process. After saving a project, you can continue to work on the project while it is synchronizing your changes with the server. The local caching works in the background. A message is displayed at the bottom of the Project window, indicating the percent that the synchronization is complete, and approximately how much time it should take before the project is synchronized.

 Notes 

  • If the cache for your project is stored in a shared network location, be sure that you have a fast connection to that location to avoid synchronization issues.
  • When the project information in your local cache is not currently synchronized with the server, an indicator Button Image is displayed at the bottom of the Project window, regardless of which project is open. Your local cache may become out of synch with the server when multiple synchronization jobs are queued for processing, if your connection to the server is interrupted, or when a synchronization job fails.
  • By default, the local cache is created in the profile for the user currently logged on to Windows, and only that user can access it. To maintain security of the cached Project files on a shared computer, each user should log on to Windows separately. If a single Windows account is used for multiple users on a shared computer (for example, if your organization has individual Project Server accounts for each user), security of the cached Project files is only maintained when connected to Project Server. When working offline, any user logged on using the shared Windows account can view and modify the cached Project files.

Top of Page Top of Page

View cache status

You can view your recent cache activities, such as checking a project in or saving changes to Project Server, on the Active Cache Status dialog box. If you receive an error when synchronizing a project with Project Server, you can view these error messages on the Active Cache Status dialog box, as well.

  1. On the Tools menu, point to Local Project Cache, and then click View Status.
  2. On the Status tab, review your recent cache activities, including the date and time when each activity occurred, and the status of the activity.
  3. On the Errors tab, review any errors you may have received while synchronizing your projects with Project Server.

 Note   Contact your server administrator for more information on the errors listed on the Errors tab.

Top of Page Top of Page

Adjust the cache settings

  1. On the Tools menu, point to Local Project Cache, and then click Cache Settings.
  2. In the Cache size limit box, type the maximum amount of memory, in megabytes, that you want the cache to occupy on your hard drive.
  3. In the Cache location box, type the path to the location that you want to use for the cache.

 Tip   You can also click Browse to navigate to the cache location.

Top of Page Top of Page

Remove projects from the cache

Removing projects from the cache can be helpful in reducing the number of projects you see in the Open dialog box, or in reducing the amount of memory used when you are approaching the cache size limit.

  1. On the Tools menu, point to Local Project Cache, and then click Cleanup Cache.
  2. In the Remove projects from cache section, in the Project Filter list, click Projects not checked out to you or Projects checked out to you to display the corresponding list of projects in the grid.
  3. Click the project in the grid that you want to remove from the cache, and then click Remove From Cache.

To select multiple projects that are not listed consecutively, hold CTRL and click each task. To select multiple tasks that are listed consecutively, click the first task listed, and then hold SHIFT and click the last task listed to select the entire series of tasks.

 Tip   The Cache Details box displays information about the cache size, including the total cache size when you opened the Clean Up Cache dialog box, and the cache size limit. The Size column, in the Remove projects from cache section, individually displays the size of each project. When you select multiple tasks, the total size of the selected projects is displayed next to Total size of selected projects. Use these size totals to determine whether you are clearing enough space in the cache to meet your needs.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
Project 2007