Empty the Deleted Items folder

Items that you delete are moved to the Deleted Items folder, but aren’t permanently deleted until that folder is emptied. Over time, the contents of the Deleted Items folder can consume a large amount of your data file or email server storage quota.

The Deleted Items folder appears in the Navigation Pane (Navigation Pane: The column on the left side of the Outlook window that includes buttons for the Mail, Calendar, and Tasks views and the folders within each view. Click a folder to show the items in the folder.) when you are using the Mail or the Folder List views. Outlook can be configured to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder, or you can manually empty the folder at any time.

 Tip    To open the Folder List view, at the bottom of the Navigation Pane, click Folder List or press CTRL+6.

Automatically empty the Deleted Items folder

  1. Click the File tab.
  2. Click Options.
  3. On the Advanced tab, under Outlook Start and Exit, select the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting check box.
  4. To be notified before the Deleted Items folder is emptied automatically, on the Advanced tab, under Other, select the Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items check box.

Top of Page Top of Page

Manually empty the Deleted Items folder

  1. To open the Folder List view, at the bottom of the Navigation Pane, click Folder List or press CTRL+6.
  2. Right-click the Deleted Items folder, and then click Empty Folder.

You can also do this procedure in Mail, in the Navigation Pane.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
Outlook 2010