Distribution groups

Use Distribution Groups to create, join, or leave distribution groups that are in your organization’s address book. You can also create distribution groups that will appear in your organization’s address book.

 Note    These features may not be available to you, or may be only partly available.

In this article


Join or leave a distribution group

Use Join or leave a distribution group to see and manage the distribution groups you’re a member of.

To join a distribution group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I belong to.
  2. Select Join Join distribution group.
  3. In the dialog box, select the group you want to join. You can search for a group by typing all or part of its name in the search window, and then selecting the search icon search. To clear the search results, select Clear discard.
  4. Select the group you want to join.
  5. Select Join Join distribution group.

To leave a distribution group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I belong to.
  2. Select the distribution group you want to leave.
  3. Select Leave Leave distribution group.

Top of Page Top of Page

Create and manage distribution groups

Create and manage distribution groups shows the distribution groups that you’re listed as an owner of. Use it to create new groups and manage existing groups that you own.

To create a new group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I own.
  2. Select New new.
  3. In the dialog box, add the information needed to create your distribution group.
  4. Select Save.

To edit a group or review information about a group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I own.
  2. In the dialog box, select the group you want to edit. You can search for a group by typing all or part of its name in the search window, and then selecting the search icon search. To clear the search results, select Clear discard.
  3. Select Edit edit.
  4. Make the changes you want.
  5. Select Save to save your changes, or Cancel to leave without saving.

To delete a group that you own, find it in the list and select Delete discard.

Top of Page Top of Page

Control who can send to a group

After you’ve created a group, you can edit it to control who can send messages to it. By default, only people inside your organization can send to distribution groups in your organization’s address book.

To determine who can send to your group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I own.
  2. Select the distribution group that you want to change the settings for.
  3. Select Edit edit.
  4. Select Delivery management.
  5. Choose the delivery management settings.
  6. Select Save to save your changes, or Cancel to leave without saving.

Top of Page Top of Page

Set up a moderated distribution group

Messages sent to a moderated distribution group can be screened by a group moderator before being sent to all members of the group. If you own a group, you can set up moderation rules for the group.

To configure a moderated distribution group:

  1. Select Settings settings > Options > Groups > Distribution groups I own.
  2. Select the distribution group that you want to make a moderated group.
  3. Select Edit edit.
  4. Select Message approval.
  5. Choose the message approval settings you want and add group moderators.
  6. Select Save to save your changes, or Cancel to leave without saving.

Top of Page Top of Page

What else do I need to know?

  • If you’re a member of a lot of groups, you can use the search box under Distribution groups I belong to to find a specific group that you’re a member of. To clear the search results, select Clear discard in the search box.
  • To see information about a group, select it in the the list, and then select Details edit.
  • You can also join or leave a group by selecting Join or Leave at the bottom of a distribution group’s details page.
  • Some groups are closed, and will automatically reject a request to join them. To join these groups, contact the list owner.
  • Groups can be set up so that only the list owner can remove members. If you ask to be removed from one of these lists, your request will be rejected. You’ll have to contact the list owner to be removed from these lists.
  • If you own a lot of groups, you can use the search box under Distribution groups I own to find a specific group. To clear the search results, select Clear discard in the search box.

What if I want to know more?

 
 
Applies to:
Microsoft Outlook Web App for Office 365 operated by 21Vianet - Small Business, Outlook Web App, Outlook Web App for Office 365 Enterprise, Outlook Web App for Office 365 operated by 21Vianet, Outlook Web App for Office 365 Small Business