Disable an Offline Folder file (.ost)

This feature requires you to use a Microsoft Exchange account. Most home and personal accounts do not use Exchange.

  1. Manually synchronize your Offline Folder file (.ost) (Offline Folder file: The file on your hard disk that contains offline folders. The offline folder file has an .ost extension. You can create it automatically when you set up Outlook or when you first make a folder available offline.) to copy new items (item: An item is the basic element that holds information in Outlook (similar to a file in other programs). Items include e-mail messages, appointments, contacts, tasks, journal entries, notes, posted items, and documents.) from the offline folders to the server folders.

ShowHow?

Do one of the following:

  • To synchronize the selected folder, click the Tools menu, point to Send/Receive, and then click This Folder.
  • To synchronize all of your folders that are set up for offline use, click the Tools menu, point to Send/Receive, and then click Send/Receive All.
  • To synchronize a Send/Receive group of folders, click the Tools menu, point to Send/Receive, and then click the name of the Send/Receive group.
  1. On the Tools menu, click E-Mail Accounts, click View or change existing e-mail accounts, and then click Next.
  2. In the list, click Microsoft Exchange Server, and then click Change.
  3. Click More Settings.
  4. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Offline Folder File Settings.
  5. Click Disable Offline Use.
  6. When you setup working offline, if you specified Outlook to prompt you whether to work online or offline, you should change setting so you are no longer prompted.

ShowHow?

  1. On the Tools menu, click E-mail accounts, select View or change existing e-mail accounts, click Next, select Microsoft Exchange Server, and then click Change.
  2. Click More Settings, then click the General tab.
  3. Under When starting, select Automatically detect connection state.

 Note   To permanently remove the .ost file from your computer, you must delete it.

 
 
Applies to:
Outlook 2003