Cancel a meeting

Remove a meeting from your Outlook calendar when the meeting isn’t necessary and you want to let the meeting attendees know the meeting is cancelled.

  1. On the Navigation Bar (Navigation Bar: Commands at the bottom of the Outlook window that enable you to quickly navigate to Mail, Calendar, People, and Tasks.), click Calendar.
  2. Click the meeting, but don’t open it.
  3. Click Meeting > Cancel Meeting.

Cancel Meeting command on the ribbon

  1. Type a message to let the attendees know the meeting is cancelled. It’s not necessary, but it helps to avoid confusion.
  2. Click Send Cancellation.

Send Cancellation button in a meeting window

The meeting including any meeting agenda, notes, and attachments is deleted from Outlook.

Only the meeting organizer—the person who sends a meeting request—can send a meeting update or a cancellation.

If you want to cancel one or all meetings that are part of a recurring series, see one of the following:

 
 
Applies to:
Outlook 2013