Turn automatic synchronization of shared notebooks on or off

Automatic synchronization of shared notebooks is turned on by default. If you do not want others to see the changes that you make to shared notebooks until you are finished editing them (for example, while you are still checking facts), you can temporarily disable automatic synchronization and turn it back on at a later time.

What do you want to do?


Turn off automatic notebook synchronization

Automatic synchronization of shared notebooks is turned on by default. If you do not want others to see the changes that you make to shared notebooks until you are finished editing them (for example, while you are still checking facts), you can disable automatic synchronization.

  1. Open the shared notebook for which you want to disable automatic synchronization between your computer and the shared notebook file.
  2. On the File menu, point to Sync, and then click Work Offline.

 Important   When you work offline, OneNote no longer attempts to synchronize any notebook changes that you make on your computer, even if you exit and restart OneNote at a later time. No one else can see your changes to the notebooks until you turn the automatic notebook synchronization feature back on.

Top of Page Top of Page

Turn automatic notebook synchronization back on

  1. Open the shared notebook for which you want to enable automatic synchronization between your computer and the shared notebook file.
  2. On the File menu, point to Sync, and then click Notebook Sync Status.
  3. In the Shared Notebook Synchronization dialog box, click Sync automatically whenever there are changes, and then click Sync Now.
  4. Click Close when notebook synchronization is finished.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
OneNote 2007