Create and manage SharePoint groups

If you’re a site collection administrator or a site owner, you can create or delete SharePoint groups. By deciding which users are members of these groups, you can use groups to control access to your sites and content. By default, groups are created at the site collection level because the site collection is the default root of site permissions. You can also create a SharePoint group for a Subsite and add people into it there.

 Note    You must be assigned a permission level that includes the Create Groups permission to create a group. To assign a permission level to a group, you must also be assigned Manage Permissions.

I want to


Create a group

  1. On your website or team site, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click Site Permissions.
    The permissions page opens.
  3. On the Permissions tab, click Create Group.
  4. On the Create Group page, in the Name and About me boxes, type a name and description for this SharePoint group.
  5. In the Group owner box, specify a single owner of this security group.
  6. In the Group Settings section, specify who can view and edit the membership of this group.
  7. In the Membership Requests section, select the settings that you want for requests to join or leave the group. You can specify the email address to which requests should be sent.
  8. In the Give Group Permissions to this Site section, choose a permission level for this group.
  9. Click Create.

Top of Page Top of Page

Add users to a group

You can add users to a group at any time.

  1. On your website or team site, click Share
    Screenshot of the Site control buttons on a Team site. The Share button is circled

By default, the Share dialog that appears displays the message Invite people to Edit. This invites the users who you add to join the SharePoint Members group.
To choose a different group and permission level, click Show options and then choose a different SharePoint group or permission level under Select a group or permission level.
Screenshot of the Share TeamSite dialog box, highlighting "Invite people to Edits'. You can also see the text box where you add user names

  1. In the Enter names, email addresses, or Everyone box, enter the name or email address of the user or group that you want to add. When the name appears in a confirmation box below your entry, select the name to add it to the text box.
  2. If you want to add more names, repeat these steps.
  3. (Optional) Enter a personalized message to send to the new users in Include a personal message with this invitation..
  4. Click Share.

Top of Page Top of Page

Remove users from a group

  1. On your website or team site, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click People and Groups.
  3. On the People and Groups page, in the Quick Launch, click the name of the group that you want to remove users from.

Select the check boxes next to the users who you want to remove, click Actions, and then click Remove Users from Group.

  1. In the confirmation window, click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Grant site access to a group

  1. On the Team Site, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click Site Permissions.
  3. On the Permissions tab, click Grant Permissions.
  4. In the Share dialog, type the name of the SharePoint group that you want to give access to.
  5. By default, the Share dialog displays the message Invite people to Edit. This grants permissions in the SharePoint Members group. To choose a different permission level, click Show options and then choose a different SharePoint group or permission level under Select a group or permission level.
  6. Click Share.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a group

  1. On your Team Site or website, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click People and Groups.
  3. In the Quick Launch, click the name of the SharePoint group that you want to delete.
  4. Click Settings, and then click Group Settings.
  5. At the bottom of the Change Group Settings page, click Delete.
  6. In the confirmation window, click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Assign a new permission level to a group

If you have customized a permission level or created a new permission level, you can assign it to groups or users.

  1. On your team site, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click Site Permissions.
  3. Select the check box next to the user or group to which you want to assign the new permission level.
  4. On the Permissions tab, click Edit User Permissions.
  5. On the Edit Permissions page, select the check box next to the name of the new permission level.
    If you select multiple permission levels, the permission level assigned to the group is the union of the individual permissions in the different levels. That is, if one level includes permissions (A, B, C), and the other level includes permissions (C, D), the new level for the group includes permissions (A, B, C, D).
  6. Click OK.

Top of Page Top of Page

Add, change, or remove a site collection administrator

  1. On your team site or website, click Settings Small Settings gear that took the place of Site Settings., and then Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Users and Permissions, click Site Collection Administrators.
  3. In the Site Collection Administrators box, do one of the following:
    1. To add a site collection administrator, enter the name or user alias of the person who you want to add.
    2. To change a site collection administrator, click the X next to the person’s name, and then enter a new name.
    3. To remove a site collection administrator, click the X next to the person’s name.
  4. Click OK.

 Note    To view the Site Collection Administrators link, you must be a site collection administrator, a SharePoint Online Admin, or a Global admin. This link is not displayed to Site Owners.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint admin center, SharePoint Foundation 2013, SharePoint Online Enterprise (E1), SharePoint Online Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online Midsized Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise (E1 & E2), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Enterprise (E3 & E4), SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Midsized Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Small Business, SharePoint Online operated by 21Vianet - Website, SharePoint Online Small Business, SharePoint Online Website, SharePoint operated by 21Vianet - admin center, SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise, SharePoint Server 2013 Standard