Simultaneously edit a presentation with other authors

When you collaborate with other authors to create a presentation, you can save time by simultaneously editing the presentation, instead of doing this separately. To edit the presentation at the same time, each author opens the file from a common location on a server.

 Important   You can simultaneously edit presentations in the .pptx or .ppsx file format that are located on Windows Live OneDrive or a server that has Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010 installed. To work with SharePoint in Office for Mac, you have to have Microsoft Office for Mac Home and Business 2011, Microsoft Office for Mac Academic 2011, or Microsoft Office for Mac Standard 2011.

With the presentation open on your computer, you can see who else is editing the presentation, who is editing a specific slide, and when updates from other authors are available on the server.

Simultaneously edit a file

Callout 1 Other authors currently editing the slide

Callout 2 All authors currently editing the presentation

Callout 3  Changes from other authors available on the server

When you save your changes to the server, any updates from other authors are automatically refreshed in the presentation in front of you. Updates from other authors are refreshed automatically only if they don't conflict with changes that you made. If you and another author both change the same item, then a conflict may occur. If a conflict occurs, you are prompted to review the conflict and accept or reject the change. Or you can set a preference to always be asked whether you want to review all changes.

Do any of the following:

ShowOpen a presentation that is located on a SharePoint site

  1. On the File menu, click Open URL.
  2. In the URL box, type the URL for the document that is located on SharePoint, such as http://fabrikam/shared%documents/DocumentName.docx.

 Tip   You have to use a URL for a document in a SharePoint library. You cannot use a URL for other areas of a SharePoint site, such as a SharePoint list (SharePoint list: A list is a SharePoint site component where your organization can store, share, and manage information. For example, you can create a task list to track work assignments or track team events on a calendar. You can also conduct a survey or host discussions on a discussion board.) or top-level sites (top-level sites: A Web site at the top of the hierarchy in a site collection, from which you can manage site collection features. A top-level site can have multiple subsites.).

  1. Click Open.


 Notes 

  • You can also open a presentation that is located on SharePoint from your browser.
  • If you prefer to edit the file separately instead of at the same time as other authors, you can check out the file. On the File menu, click Check Out. When you check out a file, the other authors are "locked out" and can only read the file.

ShowOpen a presentation that is located on a Windows Live OneDrive

  1. Open your browser and sign in to Windows Live OneDrive.
  2. Find and click the presentation, and then click Open in PowerPoint.

ShowSee who else is editing a presentation

  1. On the View menu, click Normal.
  2. Do one of the following:
To Do this
See who is editing anywhere in the presentation

On the status bar at the bottom of the window, click the numbered icon Collaboration Bar presence icon.

To send a communication to someone, click the person in the list, and then click a communication method - for example, send an instant message.

See who is editing a specific slide

In the navigation pane, click the icon Collaboration slide presence  next to the slide.

To send a communication to someone, click the person in the list, and then click a communication method - for example, send an instant message.

ShowSave and refresh a presentation that has updates

When you save changes to the server, the other authors are notified that updates are available. Each author can choose to automatically refresh the presentation that he or she is working on with the latest changes. Or the author can review the updates to decide which changes to accept or reject.

  • On the status bar at the bottom of the window, click Updates Available, and then do one of the following:
To Click Results
Refresh the presentation with changes

Save on the shortcut menu

 Tip   You can also click Save Save and refresh button  on the Standard toolbar.

Your changes are saved to the server, and updates from the other authors appear in your presentation.

 Note   Updates from other authors are refreshed automatically only if they don't conflict with your changes. If any updates conflict with your changes, you will be able to review the conflicting changes before they are saved and decide which changes to accept or reject.

Review the changes to decide which changes to accept or reject Save and Review on the shortcut menu Updates from other authors appear in your presentation. A list of the changes appears so that you can decide which changes to accept or reject.

ShowReview changes from other authors

You can see when other authors save changes to the server because an Updates Available menu appears on the status bar at the bottom of the window. You can review the updates from other authors to decide which changes you want to accept or reject.

  1. On the status bar, click Updates Available, and then click Save and Review.

A list of changes is displayed for you to review. If there are conflicting changes, you are asked whether you want to review the conflicts only, or review all changes.

  1. In the Compare Changes pane, under List of Changes, click an item.

 Tip   

  • The slide under the list of changes displays a preview of what the change will look like if you accept the change and add it to your presentation.
  • To change the size of the Compare Changes pane, drag the lower-right corner.

  1. Do one of the following:
To Do this
Add the change to the presentation that you are working on

Click AcceptReview Accept button

If Accept Review Accept button is not available, then the change is already included in the presentation and you do not need to take any action.

Not add the change to the presentation that you are working on

Click RejectReview Reject button

If Reject  Review Reject button is not available, then the change is already excluded from the presentation. You do not have to take any action.

 Note   When you end the comparison, any rejected changes are discarded, and are not saved to the server the next time that you save the presentation.

  1. When you finish reviewing the changes, on the Review tab, under Compare, click End.

Review tab, Compare group

The presentation is saved to the server, and other authors who are editing the presentation are notified that updates are available.

 Tip   You can also click the close button on the Compare Changes pane to end the comparison.

ShowAlways be notified when other authors make changes

When you save a presentation, your changes are saved to the server. Any updates from other authors are automatically refreshed in the presentation at that time, if they don't conflict with your changes. If you always want the option to review changes from other authors, whether they conflict with your changes or not, you can change the setting in PowerPoint Preferences.

  1. On the PowerPoint menu, click Preferences.
  2. Click Save PowerPoint Save Preferences button.
  3. Under Save Options, click Ask if you want to review changes.

Every time that you save a presentation when updates are available, PowerPoint asks whether you want to review the changes from other authors.

See also

Send an instant message or other communication

Collaborate with others to create a presentation

My changes are missing after simultaneously editing with other authors

 
 
Applies to:
PowerPoint for Mac 2011