Share a folder in an Exchange account

If you have a Microsoft Exchange account (Microsoft Exchange account: An account managed by Microsoft Exchange Server. Microsoft Exchange accounts are used by organizations with many users. They make it possible to synchronize e-mail, calendars, and contacts between multiple computers.), you can share folders in that account with other people on the same Exchange server. You can share calendars, or folders that contain mail, contacts, tasks, or notes.

Do any of the following:

ShowShare a folder

  1. In the navigation pane (navigation pane: The left pane of the Document Connection for Mac window that displays saved locations and files.), click the folder that you want to share.
  2. On the Organize tab, click Permissions.

Organize tab, Permissions, Properties

  1. Click Add User, type the name of the user, and then click Find.
  2. In the search results, click the user's name, and then click OK.
  3. In the Name list, click the user's name, and then on the Permission Level pop-up menu, click the access level that you want.

To customize the user's permission levels, select or clear the check boxes. You can also change the options for Edit Items and Delete Items.

 Note   

  • When you delegate or share an address book, calendar, or mail folder, delegates or users who share those folders could view your private contacts, events, or e-mail messages by using other software applications. To help protect your privacy, put private items in a separate, non-shared address book, calendar, or mail folder.
  • Sharing a folder does not automatically share any subfolders. To share a subfolder, the primary folder must be shared first, and then you can set sharing permissions for the subfolder.

ShowStop sharing a folder

  1. In the navigation pane (navigation pane: The left pane of the Document Connection for Mac window that displays saved locations and files.), click the folder that you want to stop sharing.
  2. On the Organize tab, click Permissions.

Organize tab, Permissions, Properties

  1. On the Permissions tab, click the name of the user who you want to stop sharing with.
  2. To temporarily suspend access, on the Permission Level pop-up menu, click None.

Or, to permanently stop sharing with the person, click Remove.

 Tip   If you change the permission level to None, the user remains on the list, which allows you to quickly reinstate permissions later. If the calendar, address book, or mail folder has Folder Visible permissions assigned, the folder is still visible to the user when you suspend access.

See also

About sharing and delegation

Open a shared calendar, address book, or e-mail folder

 
 
Applies to:
Outlook for Mac 2011