Empty the Deleted Items folder

When you delete messages in Outlook, the messages are moved to the Deleted Items folder. Items in this folder continue to take up space on your computer's hard disk and — if your account is set up to leave copies of the messages on the mail server — in your account mailbox. To free up some disk and mailbox space, you can empty the Deleted Items folder.

If you have multiple e-mail accounts, you may have a Deleted Items folder for each account.

  1. Hold down CONTROL , and then in the folder list (folder list: The list of your mail folders visible in the navigation pane, which is the pane on the left side of the main Outlook window. The folder list is only visible in Mail view.), click the Deleted Items folder.
  2. Click Empty Folder.

 Notes 

See also

Create, change, or delete a schedule

Move or copy a message between folders

Move or rename a folder

About Time Machine backups and Outlook

 
 
Applies to:
Outlook for Mac 2011