Change the number of worksheets in a new workbook

By default, Microsoft Office Excel provides three worksheets (worksheet: The primary document that you use in Excel to store and work with data. Also called a spreadsheet. A worksheet consists of cells that are organized into columns and rows; a worksheet is always stored in a workbook.) in a workbook, but you can change the number of worksheets that appear by default in a new workbook.

  1. Click the File tab.
  1. Under Excel, click Options.
  2. On the General tab, under When creating new workbooks, in the Include this many sheets box, enter the number of sheets that you want to include by default when you create a new workbook.
  3. Click any other tab to return to your file.
Applies to:
Excel 2010