Bing Finance (Beta)

Bing Finance (Beta)

Average Rating1.5 out of 5 stars(40)

Customer Reviews

Showing 43 of 43 reviews

ALL REVIEWS

1 out of 5 stars

Too bad had potential

March 16, 2014 by JR Hulett

If it had been anyone but Bing and Microsoft it would be worthwhile. But Bings lack of understanding of Investing and no inclusion on OTC stocks is a huge omission. Microsoft's new direction in a area it lacks knowledge and understanding is exampled in this whole experience. They should have tried to hold their niche and left the Apple based arena alone. Bing as a search engine works, but lacks the sophistication and ease of operation that a partnership with Yahoo or Goggle would have provided. Potential without fulfillment as with the remainder of the Windows 8.x apps. They just shouldn't have panicked and rushed development.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Good idea - poorly executed with bugs

March 12, 2014 by Gabe

Initially this works great. Loads in the pivot table, you can run filters, its a bit slow but I could live with that. Shortcoming in that Currency pairs are not found in the source DB. I let that slide and used only equities. But then added some of my own calculated columns into the table so that I could have my profit/loss, % gains, stops recorded. The table quickly malfunctioned after a few days. Items would randomy disappear or rows would get copied and inserted elsewhere, Wrecked my whole tracking of portfolio and made it worthless as a tool. the latest load I made stopped even accepting new symbols past 20 rows. 
Please work on your QA as a part of sprint planning guys.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Just unbelievably disappointing...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
February 21, 2014 by Ash C.

The old MSN Money added valuable functionality, but without warning it was discontinued and replaced with this terrible application that can at the best of times accomplish only a small fraction of what it's predecessor was capable of.
.
I am really trying to stick with Microsoft as a company, I don't know why to be honest, they are making it more and more difficult by constantly dumbing down their applications. 
.
Catering to power users is no longer a concern for the company apparently...

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Worked once

1 person found this review not helpful
February 13, 2014 by User

but changing for adding additional brings up a blank Bing Finance app window.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

GREAT POTENTIAL BUT CURRENTLY WORTHLESS!!!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
January 26, 2014 by JPPTHREE

CANT ENTER MORE THAN ONE SYMBOL AT A TIME. NUMEROUS BUGS THAT REMOVE SYMBOLS, CHANGES VALUES. THIS WAS NOT READY FOR BETA TESTING!!! AS OF JAN 2014.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

How Can This Product Not be Fixed for So Long

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
January 4, 2014 by Paul

I am experiencing the same issues as other users did in early 2013. I enter data and save my spreadsheet but when I later reenter the sheet it always asks that I download the Bing App. When I do, some data that I had previously entered either gets deleted or moved under an incorrect stock/fund symbol. It is very frustrating. The program either should be fixed or removed from the menu. Enough is enough. If no one is working on it, get rid of it.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Where's the DOW or S&P

1 person found this review not helpful
January 4, 2014 by Willco

I just wand to display the daily closing for the Dow or the S&P 500 but the search won't find it.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

works but can be much better

1 person found this review not helpful
December 3, 2013 by Sudeep Kumar

it is a useful app , however , i cannot add this app on multiple worksheets which limits the usage significantly. eg a stock watch by sector on each excel worksheet

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Total Waste of Time

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
November 12, 2013 by Matthew

This could be a great demonstration of the new app model, but falls VERY short. It's a total waste of time. Once you actually get the app to add your symbols, which took about 5 tries. Don't blink, it randomly deletes half of the symbols I added, honestly, it deletes data! (I used it as part of the Excel portfolio template.) This app should be pulled from the Market until it's fixed.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Lots of bugs, but I can't wait for it to work!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
October 26, 2013 by Rono

I really love my Surface tablet, but Microsoft has a long ways to go. This app is truly in the "beta" stage. The biggest problem that I have right now is that when I create a table of my stocks then later try to add more, it will completely wipe out everything and start fresh with the additions. Also, it is very tedious to add one stock at a time, there needs to be a way to add a list. Stocks that are above $1,000 show as 1.00K and it is messing up the built in formulas.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

getting better, but.....

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
September 28, 2013 by PK

Tried the app a few months ago, and had to give up on it at that time. I REALLY miss the old MSNStockQuote add-in functionality available with older Excell versions.  
But I went back to give it another try and was pleased to find the latest beta version working better and with more selectable fields.
However.....
I miss being able to get the bid and ask prices, and their lot sizes for a stock.
And I cant get index values, or exchange rates. MSN Stock Quote had all that functionality. That makes this app a step backward for me.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Minus 5 stars

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
September 3, 2013 by dlb20720

Did not work AT ALL. When I tried to download the app it kept saying I already had it and to check the program (Excel). Wasn't listed in Excel so I tried multiple times with the same result. From reading the other comments here, it doesn't look like I missed anything. MS is going downhill fast.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

useless

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
July 25, 2013 by Tech Finance User

useless, a trinket that lasts only couple of seconds.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Not useful

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
July 2, 2013 by Emmy

This would be great, if it contained all the investment products that have a valid CUSIP, i.e. ADRs, mutual funds, ETFs, not just US stocks. If I cannot track my entire portfolio, what's the use?

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Would be nice if it worked

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
June 11, 2013 by Gordon Missimer

Randomly crashes, lookups are incomplete, and importing some simple data sometimes just doesn't work. This would have been a great time saver had it been properly executed.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Horrible App

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
June 8, 2013 by stanley steamer

The Bing Finance App is just plain terrible. The add-in for stock quotes that could be used in prior versions of excel was so much better, however that add-in doesn't work with excel 2013. The Bing Finance App developers should take a look at the old add-in and model it after that. I absolutely hate Bing Finance and I am looking for another add-in/app that I can install that will insert stock quotes/prices into excel. I only gave it one star because I was prompted to select a star. If I could give it negative stars I would.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Jeez, why is this so hard to use?

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
May 25, 2013 by Lee

I'm gobsmacked at the way something offered for free by Google is SO much easier to use than something I have to pay for from Microsoft. (At least the Excel 2013 part.) The Google function is brain dead simple: first, stock, second; some data about the stock. You can insert it directly into a spreadsheet, and entries can be "live" or picked up from other cells. It takes about two minutes to learn; I was making spreadsheets right away. (Google, if you're reading this, please add support for option prices.) By contrast, even though I consider myself a well above-average Excel user, I was stopped dead in my tracks by Bing Finance, which I bought Excel 2013 to use. All I want is to be able to get a piece of data, like a stock price, and put it in a cell. What on earth is so hard about that? Why am I forced to deal with tables and lookup functions and the rest? This is so, so disappointing.

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

love the app!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2013 by Ned

not sure about all the comments that are negative...I love this app! super useful !! I added 100 stocks and it does a great job!

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Great beta, please fix a few things !

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2013 by Martin W

What a great beta, looks really good and could be very useful. Couple of bugs, such as cant add some shares BP and TT from the FTSE. Both show up with "/" in their name so don't work. Also if I save the file and then re-open all the FTSE share change to NYSE shares with the same name. Makes it unusable at the moment. Could these please be fixed ? Thanks.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Potential

1 person found this review not helpful
May 8, 2013 by Yappy

I get it...it's still in beta. Light install. Keep working on developing this please.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

What a disaster!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
April 21, 2013 by QVP

Save yourself the hassle and just stick with google for any stock/fund portfolio spreadsheets. I have no clue why Microsoft has totally destroyed this concept in Excel.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work at all

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
April 20, 2013 by Ryan

I would give it zero stars if possible since it doesn't actually work at all. When I try to launch it it simply crashes and asks me to restart it, to which it crashes again and repeats the prompts. Good idea but bad execution.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
April 15, 2013 by Dana

The data is delayed, and does not update automatically.
One has to hit the sync button on the top right of the Portfolio tab to get it to sync to old data.
If it updated every minute, or something similar, I could understand that.
But... not syncing at all?
Typical Microsoft!
I'd give it a zero rating if I could.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Pathetic

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
April 6, 2013 by Scott Lord

I don't know why loading stock data into a supposed financial chart application is so difficult. After fighting with Excel 365 and this app it's an utter waste of time. I'll be sticking to my Google Docs spreadsheet.
Stocks in Excel 365 is an EPIC FAIL.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Has great potential

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
April 5, 2013 by Ricardo

This tool has a great potential but stocks from outside the US as other reviewers wrote, don't work as it fails to get the info from the server (at least in México).

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Worthless

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
March 27, 2013 by Tom Jorgensen

I had a table that worked well in my prior versions of Excel. This App won't let me add more than one or two symbols, and then it won't update prices in any case. Utterly and completely useless. This is a big problem for me....

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Still beta ???

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
March 24, 2013 by Kim Ørtoft Jensen

Please fix this Microsoft!
For how long will this be a beta???
It could be so great :-)

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Only US stock market does not honor regional settings on computer

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
March 21, 2013 by Matt

Useless if you are not using US regional settings. It does not honnor OS regional settings so the valuest pasted into cells are text with . as decimal separator. On top of it is only supports US stock market.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Aus stocks

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
March 16, 2013 by Mark Price

This app is a waste of time for Australian stocks. As other reviewers have commented, when reloading the spreadsheet, the companies change to US companies. Bing needs some Bada treatment, this app should be withdrawn given how long it has not been working.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

May switch to Google

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful
March 13, 2013 by Stuart

Google have got this so much better where they have a built-in function to gather financial data. I can't believe how difficult it is to do this in Excel. The Bing app could be good but is poorly executed. Many UK stocks do not seem to load and I am unable to add mutual funds etc. I would really like to see this sorted otherwise I will be switching to Google apps.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Works incorrectly in countries with different from US number format

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
March 7, 2013 by Stanislav

Works incorrectly in countries with different from US number format

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Great potential but cannot be used so far.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful
March 6, 2013 by Slipman

If you are looking for quotes that are not US, you will likely be in trouble because some symbol might be similar with the US quotes and you will get the US value.
Would it be possible to search quotes based on their ISIN Code instead (same as MSN Stock Quote)? That would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Not worth the effort

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
March 5, 2013 by Michael

This app was one of the reasons I purchased Office 2013 and quite bluntly it is completely useless. 
I realize it is a BETA but it has (1) serious problems with Canadian equities (2) drops stocks from my list every time I start it and (3) changes Canadian stock to U.S. stocks with similar symbols.
I started off with 17 stocks, next time I started it I lost 5. Of the 12 remaining 6 were changed to other stocks with similar symbols.
It would appear that symbols are saved WITHOUT a country identifier. Example BCE. Search comes up with BCE.C Toronto Stock Exchange BUT the symbol is saved as BCE and next update gets BCE New York Stock Exchange. Manually changing the symbol doesn't help.
A one star rating is too high should be zero.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Good idea but unusable for the most part

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
March 1, 2013 by Hoting

Search, add stock functions often do not respond. It seems as if the web server has timed out.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Not close to the quality I expect from Microsoft.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
February 26, 2013 by Bryan W

The idea is awesome, but the delivery is terrible. 
I can't reference a cell which is a hassle. If i could reference a cell with a ticker then I could change symbols and it would auto update information based on the search term, or I could just have my list and drag down the formulas but instead I have to add in one symbol at a time. 
Can't see any clear way to update other than clicking in the search pane.
The old msn money quotes web query was much better than this. 
The old msnmoney had update options, ability to reference cells, and was just more convenient. 
Apps are all about quality AND convenience, as one without the other gets rendered useless.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Nice app, but quirky

1 person found this review not helpful
February 14, 2013 by Andre

Added stock symbol F for Ford, each time I open it spreadsheet back up it drops it from my portfolio.
I added it last, also tried adding a symbol after it, but it keeps on dropping off.
These apps need to also integrate with Access

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Has Potential but Needs Improvement

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
February 13, 2013 by Russ

Limited coverage of Canadian exchange traded securities - please include securities with a .un suffix such as cmz.un - and also requires you to accept certain fields that you don't need (I don't need to see the company name if I know the ticker and if I haven't bought the stock I don't need a Quantity field). It has very good potential though.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Almost useful, but can't add cash

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
February 10, 2013 by Ryan

No way to add a Cash position to the list. 
If entered manually, that line will get overwritten whenever a new stock/fund is added, which is more annoyance than it is worth. 
Close to being awesome though.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

So many problems

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
February 8, 2013 by DavidG

Great potential but:
-search tool is poor
-certain UK listed stocks fail to load mainly those with stock codes eg. NG/.GB, RR/.GB 
-prices of stock which exceed 1000 are loaded as 1k which causes problems for calculating a total value based on the number of shares
-UK collective investment i.e. investment trusts and unit trusts don't seem to load.
-having loaded up a list of stocks a refresh changed most of the stocks, which is very annoying given how long it takes to load each stock.
Therefore Microsoft need to carry out some significant work to make this useful

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Browser Compatibility

1 person found this review not helpful
February 4, 2013 by S Cutler

I also have the proper version of Chrome (V 24) as well as IE 9 and it is telling me I do not have the proper browser version to support the app.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Good, not yet great, flexibility needed

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
February 1, 2013 by MHolzmann

The app functioned mostly as expected. However, it needs more flexibility. As an example, I SHOULD be able to choose all fields other than Ticker Symbol. Unfortunately, the app forces the user to have certain preset fields that then must be hidden. I'd prefer to pick all the fields that I want, from the start.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doesnt work - Says incompatible browser

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
January 8, 2013 by Dan van Kampen

My browser is up to date Chrome, should be supported but apparently it is not which renders the entire app useless.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Huge potential, simple bug

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful
January 5, 2013 by Paul English

Search box (critical function) in the sidebar of the app(let?) didn't work, plain and simple.

Did you find this helpful?