Dictionary - Merriam-Webster

Dictionary - Merriam-Webster

Average Rating2.5 out of 5 stars(26)

Customer Reviews

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

ALL REVIEWS

5 out of 5 stars

Bringing the Web to Word...

46 out of 54 people found this review helpful
August 22, 2012 by Steve

It's great to finally have the web jump out from inside of Word, to be able to use online services for in-document lookup of definitions, without leaving Word is a great idea.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Great if you want extremely basic

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful
November 19, 2012 by BB

Only gives some of the definition and explanation. If you want all the info you still have to go to the website. Also, no thesaurus. That seems like an easy function that's just not there.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Poor interface, very basic, feels rushed and not Australian English as promised.

23 out of 32 people found this review helpful
February 12, 2013 by Luke Stevens

The dictionary is either always there on the right side of the screen or you need to load it up to look up a word. Therefore it is either obtrusive or about as convenient as using a web browser. In reality this is the same as the Research button from Office 2010 but with only one dictionary, no thesaurus and no web search. Oh, and you need to download it just to add that extra inconvenience. 
Also, the version I downloaded was supposed to be Australian English (yes, that is a thing) but it didn't recognise thunderbox or dunny and those are just some synonyms for toilet. There are far more obscure words out there that a decent dictionary would know or, in the case of the old Research button it would be able to search the web for them.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Why not in Outlook?

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful
October 30, 2012 by CDR

The app works great in word but is unavailable for use in Outlook 2013. Furthermore, Microsoft seems to have seen it appropriate to remove the Encarta dictionary from outlook as well, leaving you with no option to define words while composing/reading emails!? Please make this app compatible/available for Outlook 2013 ASAP.

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Cool dictionary

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful
June 27, 2012 by Philip

This is a cool dictionary app that makes looking up words much simpler.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Good, but not the best dictonary here

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
April 28, 2013 by subsider34

While the interface for this dictionary is the best of your dictionary options here, Merrian-Webster falls down when it comes to the all important content. Many words, notably those obscure words that nearly everyone has to look up, are not listed.
Also, the definitions for those words that are in the dictionary often exclude common meanings (try looking up "bias", according to the Merriam-Webster app, prejudice is not a meaning).
Still, this app excels in identifying multiple forms of a word (i.e. 'run', 'runs', and 'running'). Something that all the other dictionary providers seem to fall down on.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

good

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
March 14, 2013 by Jason

good definitions, however synonyms are limited and does not define the different usages of the term ie. verb, adjective, noun. It only gives the meanings, not the type.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Limited and unreliable

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
April 3, 2013 by Bob

Has limited definitions and a limited vocabulary, which is frustrating - having entered what you know to be a legitimate word, only to find it does not have it listed. Also, the whole thing regularly will not load. Frustrating.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Very basic, with no support for the Queen's English

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
March 31, 2013 by David Armstrong

I agree totally with the Australian reviewer, Luke Stevens, though, to be fair, when I looked for Word 2013 apps I was told that there weren't any for my country (England)! 
Consequently, as Mr Stevens points out, the dictionary recognizes neither the Queen's English nor Australian English - try putting "colour" or the like into it, let alone any of the Australian words he lists. It an American dictionary, for undemanding American users, and parochial for all that.
One would have thought that a program with a name like Word would be first and foremost concerned with establishing a powerful dictionary. The Oxford, which serves the Kindle so well, would have been a boon here. However, non-American and American academic users are currently stuck. The bing dictionary is superior to this one, but (as the reviews suggest) it is still lacking.

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Can be better

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
March 20, 2013 by Can be better

UI needs some improvements.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Don't bother; minimally useful and causes Word 2013 to hang

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
March 27, 2013 by Jim

1) The dictionary task pane does not provide a pronunciation guide; it does not provide “part of speech” information (e.g., noun, transitive verb, adjective, etc.); it does not provide synonyms, etc., etc. If you require information other than the few meager definitions this app provides, you must open/use a web browser window to obtain it (or just use an actual dictionary text). In other words, if you must open a web browser to obtain the dictionary information you’re after, there’s really no reason to install this Office app.
2) On my computer, Word 2013 hangs if I leave the dictionary task pane open for a few minutes. I literally have to kill Word via the task manager (CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) and re-launch Word to continue working. And of course, Microsoft provides absolutely no obvious means for removing this or any other Office app after it is installed.

Did you find this helpful?

5 out of 5 stars

Dictionary--write title

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
June 26, 2013 by Dictionary--write

This is great--0626edit

Did you find this helpful?

3 out of 5 stars

Useful App

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
October 16, 2013 by Neil

Useful app, located handily within Word.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
March 3, 2013 by Tim

It doesn't work. I've installed it twice. It tells me my internet is down and gives me an error message. The Bing one works. This one is terrible. And why do I need to download and fool with an app for a feature that's been a part of Word for the past 25 years? It's just crazy. It's an opportunity for some developer to make a decent app, but it's a shame that Word shipped with no dictionary and poor support from MW. Boo.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Barebones and not worth installing.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
March 1, 2013 by Steve

I guess having it in-line is ok but most of the real results are on the web site so it doesn't help all that much

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Below basic

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
October 17, 2013 by Chris

This is the worst dictionary imaginable. It will only list one sense of one lexical item per lexical form. Homonyms: forget about it. Synonyms: click the link, and it'll show you in a webpage (but not with your default browser). Phonological forms: what are they? I know it's cliche, but one star is too much for this trash. I don't know why Microsoft didn't include the infinitely more advanced Encarta Dictionary with Office 2013.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Too Basic

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
August 13, 2013 by Jordi

I've somehow managed to set this as my default dictionary and have had to stop using word as a dictionary or thesaurus. Uses the least common definition of a word as the default, or only a very basic (and rather useless) description.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doable

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
September 20, 2013 by John

Is having a definition for "doable" so hard? is it doable?

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Poor Dictionary

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
June 30, 2014 by John Evans

For test purposes I looked up "paging" and was told my word is not in the dictionary. Then I searched for "page"; third definition was "an act or instance of paging."
Not cool.

Did you find this helpful?

2 out of 5 stars

Test

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
April 11, 2014 by Mani Kumar

Test

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Incomplete

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
January 16, 2014 by Nic

Downloaded to use as my dictionary for Microsoft Word because word does not post multiple results like it did for 2010 version. Elucidation was shown as not existing in the dictionary until I went to the website and looked it up where it gave me a definition and examples. It came from the word thesaurus which has the least options of words that exist as it is. It is not like I am asking it to translate languages.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
March 27, 2014 by TimD

Asks me to click "Restart" to restart the MW Dictionary app.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Security Certificate

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
April 2, 2014 by Austin

This does not work. It says that this sites security certificate is expired or void. When I try to continue, nothing happens. It also seems a bit too basic for my needs. I'm not sure how to remove this app either. This app got me nowhere and seems basic.

Did you find this helpful?