OmniPage File Converter

OmniPage File Converter

Average Rating2.5 out of 5 stars(8)

Customer Reviews

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

ALL REVIEWS

1 out of 5 stars

Didn't work at all!

1 person found this review not helpful
January 5, 2014 by Naftali

I tried several times converting pdf files and images. The app showed the file was converted to text successfully, but I couldn't send it to an Office program. 
It's isn't clear what you should do after the conversion finishes how do you copy or paste it to an office program.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

So far so good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
December 12, 2013 by Juli

Have had no problems with it reading documents. Has saved me tons of time keeping me from retyping things.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Right tool for the right task

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
October 29, 2013 by Gyuri

I recommend using the Text mode for text recognition. It does a decent job there - better than One Note, especially if we consider the recognition of printed & scanned documents or documents of a language other than English.
The accuracy drops with screenshots or other low resolution camera images, but it is quite good with most scans. In my experience, it works well however with PDF files that contain no accessible text (which may come handy if the edit mode is locked...).
The formatted mode only works well if the document is a conventional flow text with headers, paragraphs, etc. It does handle the case of multiple columns well, but has issues with stuff like background pictures (like magazine frontpages) and tables. It may or may not get it right, depending on the document layout. I am not sure about the performance issues mentioned above, it works quite fast for me right now.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Didn't work at all

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
June 23, 2013 by Yvan

The conversion seemed to work but when I tried to insert text into Word, I got absolutely nothing. I've made several tries with different PDF and JPG files but I never obtained any result. Thanks to Antonimo, in my case OneNote was very helpful!

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Good Little App

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
June 3, 2013 by Don

This app worked very well. I've tried both "Text Only" and "Formatted" and the results were good.
It loaded a little slowly but the conversions were quick.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

I wish it worked on my files....

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
April 9, 2013 by Matt Nolley

The app freezes at around 15% on all of the conversion jobs I've tried. It cruises right along until that point, and than just stops. It's being run on an i7 desktop w/ 16GB of RAM and solid state drives, so performance should not be an issue. I've left it to run overnight, and it never gets past the 15% mark.

Did you find this helpful?

4 out of 5 stars

Decent OCR

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
February 8, 2013 by David

I found this quick to go through a twelve page scanned PDF document. The output when selecting 'Text Only' was good and very accurate. However, changing to 'Formatted' output returned poor inaccurate results.

Did you find this helpful?

1 out of 5 stars

Slow and Inaccurate

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful
November 8, 2012 by Antonimo

I thought this would be extremely useful, but it totally fail.
To begin with, the app was very slow to load.
I tested the app by creating a small image of some text on a webpage (This app's own description). There were five short lines of black text on a white background in Segoe UI14px.
I selected the correct language (English) and "Text Only" conversion. The conversion took a long time to complete, pausing at 60% for several minutes.
Results: The conversion contained inaccuracies.
It can't be said that I wasn't giving the app a chance - The app was tested on an eight-core PC with 16GB RAM and 80Mbit Internet connection.
By contrast, I pasted the image into OneNote, right-clicked on the image and selected "Copy Text from Picture" and then pasted the text into OneNte. The OneNote approach took less than 5 seconds to complete and the results were better.

Did you find this helpful?