To get rid of a style or saved format, display its menu, and click the Delete command.
- The style or saved format is removed from the Styles and Formatting task pane list and the document. (The style, however, is not removed from the template; you'd have to delete it manually, or use the Organizer—discussed in Lesson 3—to delete it.)
- Any text that had the style or saved format applied to it is cleared of the style or saved format.
What the text reverts to depends on what you applied before; if you applied another style or format earlier, the text will revert to that. A paragraph with a paragraph style that gets deleted will revert to Normal.
There are a few built-in styles you can't delete, whether they've been modified or not. These are:
- Normal paragraph style.
- Heading paragraph styles (Heading 1 through Heading 9).