Running out of storage space or want to recover a deleted file from a SharePoint library? Check the recycle bin. When you delete an item from OneDrive for Business or team site library, or from a list, it isn’t completely removed from SharePoint. Deleted items go into the recycle bin, where they stay until they’re automatically removed 90 days later. Meanwhile, you can remove files from the recycle bin to free up storage space or restore items to their original location if you’ve accidentally deleted them.
Note When you open the recycle bin, you’ll only see items that you’ve deleted. . When you delete an item from a site recycle bin it automatically goes into the site collection recycle bin where it remains for a set period until it’s completely purged from SharePoint. If you’re a site collection admin, see Manage the Recycle Bin of a SharePoint site collection for more information about this feature.
To open the recycle bin:
Note If you don’t see the item you’re looking for, it may have exceeded the holding time limit and already deleted. But all is not lost. You can contact your administrator who may be able to restore it from the site collection recycle bin.